Summer Exhaustion, let’s escape

Summer is the time of year, to be the most social; hang out with your friends, meet new ones, make connections, and put yourself out there. This summer, I started a new internship at an adult and juvenile probation office. This was a very exciting opportunity and I was eager to start and learn everything there was to know about probation. What I didn’t expect was how social of an activity my internship would be. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love socializing and talking to people, but I am quite an introverted person. For me, this means I don’t need to spend most of my energy being around and engaged with people to be fulfilled or at my happiest. But, with this internship, the social aspect was something I accepted, it was good to get out of my shell for a bit. Fast forward to today, nine weeks later, I am simply exhausted. I want to run into the wilderness for a good 14 days and stay there with a book, some nice cold water, and some fruit. I want to escape and detoxify my body mentally and physically. I don’t wish to go out, or carry on conversations with anyone, or be on social media for a good while. I just need a break for a little bit, ya know? Nothing harsh, I just think we all get to the point where we need to be by ourselves and clear our minds. Really, I only have a week to do this as I move back into college next weekend (cue the dread)! I’ll be okay though, and so will you if you find yourself needing an escape. Here are some tips if you feel stuck in this situation as well:

  1. Go on a calming adventure for a day or two by yourself. For example, go to the beach, pack a blanket, some of your favorite foods, water, a nice book, a journal, and your computer and relax your mind away.
  2. Walk around your favorite nearby city and recognize your own sonder as others pursue their daily routine. This may seem like a strange one, but it puts my mind at ease knowing that others have lives just as intricate and complex as mine, and they could be going through similar things.
  3. Take a nap–a quick escape for moments we can’t.

Thanks for reading!

Freely,

S,

XO

Leave a comment